Essay about Gender Stereotyping Of Children

Essay about Gender Stereotyping Of Children

Length: 2804 words (8 double-spaced pages)

Rating: Research Papers

Open Document

Essay Preview


In the late 1980’s McDonald’s introduced a new lineup of toys in their Happy Meal promotions, now offering exclusively Barbie and Hot Wheels as toy options. They were a huge hit, making Happy Meals more popular than ever. “Is this for a boy or girl?” was added to the list of questions you were asked when ordering. This was one of the beginnings of a new form of marketing that specifically gendered toys and stereotyped interests for each gender (Faust N. Pag.). Advertisements and marketing are not the only influences in perpetuating gender stereotypes. There are numerous influences on the youth of America that aid in the stereotyping of personalities and interests for boys and girls.

Today, most would call these actions conforming to the gender binary. The gender binary is a socially constructed system of traits that are specifically predetermined for each gender. Socially constructed simply means that over time, different stereotypes have become the norm based on roles that each gender filled. Genderspectrum.org, an organization set to breakdown gender stereotypes and educate about gender diversity gives this definition for the gender binary, “Western culture has come to view gender as a binary concept, with two rigidly fixed options: male or female. When a child is born, a quick glance between the legs determines the gender label that the child will carry for life. But even if gender is to be restricted to basic biology, a binary concept still fails to capture the rich variation observed (Understanding Gender N. Pag.).”

This could simply mean that boys will receive the Hot Wheels toy with their Happy Meal, and girls will receive the Barbie doll, just because that is what is expected. This is engrained in ...


... middle of paper ...


...ng: Science & Practice 7.4 (2007): 357-366. Academic Search Complete. Web. 19 Feb. 2014.

Laidlaw, Liz. "Gender Bender." Relational Child & Youth Care Practice 23.3 (2010): 14-15. Academic Search Complete. Web. 12 Feb. 2014.

Plant, E. Ashby, and Janet Shibley Hyde. "The Gender Stereotyping Of Emotions." Psychology Of Women Quarterly 24.1 (2000): 81. Academic Search Complete. Web. 19 Feb. 2014.

Faust, Aaron. "Happy Meals: Boy or Girl?" Women's Studies. Appalachian State University, 2003. Web. 26 Feb. 2014.

Francis, Becky. "Gender, Toys and Learning." Taylor and Francis. N.p., 09 June 2010. Web. 22 Feb. 2014.

"Understanding Gender." Understanding Gender. N.p., n.d. Web. 10 Mar. 2014.

Zhao, Emmeline. "Larry King Murder: Gay Teen's Death Illustrates Schools' Challenge."The Huffington Post. TheHuffingtonPost.com, 24 Nov. 2011. Web. 10 Mar. 2014.

Need Writing Help?

Get feedback on grammar, clarity, concision and logic instantly.

Check your paper »

Gender Stereotyping Effects on Children Essay

- Stereotypes are an unavoidable part of everyday life. Stereotypes are defined as widely held generalizations about the traits, behaviors, and roles of a particular set of individuals who have been grouped together on the basis of a perceived commonality (Hansson, L. M., Karnehed, N., Tynelius, P., & Rassmussen, F. 2009). While it is possible for stereotypes to be positive, it is not uncommon that they communicate misleading information about a particular group of people. As a result, the origins and consequences of stereotyping are frequently of interest to researchers....   [tags: stereotype, physical salience, GASC]

Research Papers
1977 words (5.6 pages)

Gender Role Representation and Stereotyping in Children's Books Essays

- Gender Representation and Stereotyping in Children’s Books Introduction: This paper focuses on how society’s perception of male and female roles affects children’s literature in America and how these roles have changed slightly in the years from 1970 to the present time. Recent research on gender stereotyping in children’s literature books will be discussed. As the role of women and men changed throughout the years, so has the portrayal of characters in children’s books. Since 1970, more women entered the workforce and became more successful in their jobs outside of the home....   [tags: literature, women's roles, equality]

Research Papers
1271 words (3.6 pages)

Essay on Gender Stereotyping: A Negative Effect on Youth

- In today’s world, the media has a great rein on youth as opposed to 10 or 20 years ago. Now a day we see children as young as 6 are able to get their hands on iPhones, iPads and other media devices that are available to them. Perhaps it is to play games, take a picture, or pass the time while they wait for something. But, no matter what it is, it has an influence on them. A factor that is played in today’s media that influences youth is that of gender stereotyping. It is the behavioral norms that are thought to be appropriate in today’s world....   [tags: Media, Gender Sterotyping, Young Adults]

Research Papers
1028 words (2.9 pages)

Gender Stereotyping Has Its Positive And Negative Impacts Essay

- ... Some look at being passive as a weakness, but the positive side of it is that it is a positive vice as it helps the family setup thrive (Heilman, 2012). Teaching the young ladies to respect their husbands is a good thing as this will reduce the many divorces that are experienced in the current society. Gender stereotyping is good as it was how well planned it to be in that the man was meant to be the head and not the woman. The various leadership roles that are granted to the person are based on the original plan of creation where the man was scheduled to be the head of the house, and thus all leadership delegations came from him....   [tags: Gender, Female, Woman, Male]

Research Papers
1097 words (3.1 pages)

Essay about Male and Female Stereotyping

- GENDER STEROTYPING Gender stereotyping is an act of generalizing males and females. Gender stereotypes are based on a “complex mix of beliefs, behaviors, and characteristics”, (plannedparenthood, 1). These assumptions can be true but affect our judgment in a negative way towards the opposite sex. This leads to gender stereotyping causing conflicts between males and females, because of their unrealistic expectations of each other. Which will cause problems in their development towards adulthood....   [tags: Gender Stereotyping, Generalizations]

Research Papers
1008 words (2.9 pages)

Gender Selection And Gender Stereotyping Essays

- According to the Oxford Dictionary, designer baby is a baby whose genetic makeup has been selected in order to eradicate a particular defect, or to ensure that a particular gene is present. Now that science has progressed a lot, we are actually able to choose the characteristics and as well as the gender of the unborn baby. In fact, the world’s first “designer baby” Adam Nash was born on 29 August 2000 in the United States (Oliver). When I think of my future children, I hope that they have all the best characteristics but I don’t really care if my child is a boy or a girl....   [tags: Gender, Discrimination, Sexism, Female]

Research Papers
1454 words (4.2 pages)

The Question Of Gender Discrimination And Stereotyping Essay

- The question of gender discrimination and stereotyping still remains the actual one in the 21 century. The concept of “gender” as “social basis” assumes studying of the gender stereotypes ordering one line of role behavior in a family and society for men, and others for women. Certainly, gender stereotypes really exist, and they are various in the different countries and during different historical eras. Despite the extensive data of researches, discrimination is widely used in the sphere of mass media, which uses gender stereotypes to attract attention from the necessary auditory or satisfy their own purposes....   [tags: Gender, Discrimination, Gender role, Advertising]

Research Papers
2001 words (5.7 pages)

Gender Roles, Stereotyping and Gender Bias Essay

- Gender affects every aspect of our life, from how we feel about ourselves and set our goals in educational, recreational and work opportunities as well as the the nature and extent of our participation in social and civic life. It has a strong impact on the way we practice our religion, the way we dress, the way we express our feelings and the nature of all of our relationships with others. This paper explores various facets of gender roles in order to understand this topic such as what role males and females are expected to play in today's society, how gender roles are decided, affected and exaggerated by stereotyping....   [tags: Sexism and Gender Stereotypes]

Research Papers
2258 words (6.5 pages)

Gender Stereotyping Essay

- Stereotypical behavior is not a new trend, but rather an ongoing lifestyle for today’s society. Gender stereotyping, a sub-category of stereotypes, opens many revelations, developments, and behaviors. While there are psychologists that differ in opinion, education and employment seems to be the primary sources where it is believed that most people both obtains and acts out their stereotypical behavior (Sax & Harper 671). The origins of gender differences are particularly hard to trace, but arguments that the differences are a result of socialization is widely studied in psychology....   [tags: Gender Studies]

Research Papers
1145 words (3.3 pages)

Essay on Playgrounds and Gender Stereotyping

- Playgrounds and Gender Stereotyping In this project, I am going to investigate the question; 'Do playgroups encourage gender stereotypes?' This is quite a difficult topic to be able to answer, as a playgroup isn't just going to say that they encourage stereotypes. Therefore, I am going to have to be careful in how I find out my information to make sure they are reliable sources. To look into this and draw some sort of conclusion, I will be asking both playgroup assistants and parents of children attending playgroup (2 sets of parents with girls, 2 sets with boys, 2 sets with boys and girls) questions in interviews or questionnaires....   [tags: Papers]

Research Papers
2628 words (7.5 pages)